mubarak malteser chocolate cake

I hosted an iftar dinner party (of course in conjunction with mum, dad and sis) last night because it was Yawm Arafah (The Day of Arafat). We made lots of food, most of which I’ll post a recipe for one day, but today I want to share with you the Eid Mubarak cake I did. Although it wasn’t Eid yesterday, I wasn’t going to get the chance to share such a cake with the extended family, so I thought 1 day early is better than no cake at all.

Of course, hosting a dinner party means too much to cook with too little time (for me anyway), so this cake is ready-made. I bought almost everything pre-made (the batter just needed milk + egg, and the frosting was ready made). I will very soon share with you a recipe for both that I have, but didn’t get the chance to use yesterday. ๐Ÿ™‚

You’ll notice I’m not a pro at making cakes, but I anyway felt that this cake needed a bit of a rustic look to it anyway, so no cutting or fancy writing was involved. I really enjoyed making it, except for the part that says no licking fingers whatsoever, because I was fasting… Yes, my gosh that part was torture, but I learned 2 things: first, not be so messy with the chocolate tempering, and secondly, to work swiftly without eating half the batter and frosting and chocolate and malteasers ๐Ÿ˜‰

To all my lovely friends who celebrated Eidul Ad-ha on Sunday, I hope you enjoy a virtual slice of cake, and accept my warmest Eid wishes…..

Serves: 12

Ingredients:

2 x cake batter for an 8″ pan

340g chocolate frosting

150 g pack malteasers

1/2 cup chocolate buttons

Nestlรฉ condensed milk or white icing to write a message on the cake

ย 

Method:

Mix the ingredients of one cake batter pack as per the instructions and bake.

When ready, remove from the oven and tip the cake upside down on a tray while it’s still hot.

Repeat the first two steps for the second batter of cake.

Place both cakes in the fridge to completely cool.

Meanwhile, decorate the plate you wish to serve in (I just lined mine with al-foil).

Cut the malteasers in half and set aside.

Mix the chocolate frosting until smooth.

Remove the two cakes from the fidge, and place one on the serving tray. Place it the right way up. Use a butter knife to help get it off the tray. The steam from the heat will make the cake stick to the tray, but that’s okay. The reason we need to tip it upside down while it’s still hot is to help level the top out. Because we don’t want to cut the cake.

Spoon a generous amount of frosting on the cake in the serving tray.

Place the other cake on top of it, but facing upside down still.

Cover both cakes with the chocolate frosting. I used a butter knife to do it all, why the need for a fancy spatula?

Randomly arrange the malteasers along the edge of the cakes, pushing them into the frosting so they don’t fall.

Place the cake in the fridge.

Next, melt the chocolate buttons in a double boiler.

As they melt, you may want to put a glass baking dish in the fridge (see next step).

Transfer 1/4 of the melted chocolate onto a marble bench/cutting board, or flip a glass baking dish upside down, and pour the chocolate on it.

Spread the chocolate using a spatula and bring it together again for a minute, until it cools (we’re just trying to temper the chocolate). Use a thermometre to get it to the right temperature, or you can use your finger to estimate. Make sure the chocolate doesn’t seize up.

Return the cooled chocolate into the bowl and mix in well.

Pour the chocolate on greaseproof paper and spread evenly.

Place in the fridge to set. Cut it into triangles, or any shape to decorate the top of the cake.

I did triangles so I can mimic Jabal Arafah (Mount Arafat) on the cake.

Remove the cake from the fridge and arrange the chocolate triangles on it.

Using white icing orย Nestlรฉ condensed milk, write on the cake your message.

Customise your own message ๐Ÿ™‚

Keep in the fridge until it’s time to serve, be sure to get messy and wholeheartedly:

Devour!

8 thoughts on “mubarak malteser chocolate cake

  1. chicaandaluza says:

    Not a pro…huh! What about that amazing suitcase cake, just to name one! I am not the worlds bigest chocolate fan but I adore maltesers so am forming an orderly queue for my slice ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. skye says:

    salaams sis
    masha’allah what a beautiful cake! Eid Mubarak and im so glad I found your blog and even happier your a Aussie blogger w0ot =p take care sis x

  3. Charles says:

    Mmm, chocolate cake – my absolute favourite in any form! I bet it must have been so annoying to cut all those maltesers in half though… and incredibly tempting! I can’t resist but to end up swallowing half of the stuff when I’m cutting small things like this – cherries, olives, nuts etc ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Good Cooks says:

    Yummi… specially when it coated with chocolate all over.
    Mubarak Eid A ladha, ูˆูƒู„ ุนุงู… ูˆุงู†ุช ุจุงู„ู ุฎูŠุฑ .
    By the way, I’m palestinean living in the US. Very happy to know you Fatima.

  5. fati's recipes says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks everyone for popping in.
    Nice to meet you Skye, and to get to know you, Samah!
    I must say, Charles, I started cutting 3 at a time so I don’t have to sit through it for such a long time!
    All worked out in the end… and look, I didn’t lick my fingers, but I’m still alive! Hehehe.. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

