rigatoni pasta pie

When I first saw a version of the recipe below, I was amazed. It’s such a fantastic idea to present pasta and meat this way! ๐Ÿ™‚ My version of the recipe is below (it’s almost the same as the original but only a little less on the comfort-food scale, because it’s important to keep ourselves in shape all summer long ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) Just a note to use “normal sized” rigatoni. I bought the extra large ones, but they sort of flopped a little bit, so please do use the normal ones ๐Ÿ™‚

Serves: 8

Ingredients:

450 g rigatoni pasta

400 g minced meat (beef or lamb, up to you)

500 g diced tomatoes in juice (canned)

1 medium onion, finely diced

2 tbs tomato paste

3 tbs tomato sauce

2 tbs barbecue sauce

1 tbs oil

handful of Parmesan (up to a cup)

3/4 cupย mozzarellaย cheese

salt, pepper, baharat to taste

 

Method:

In a large saucepan, bring water to a boil.

Add in a large pinch of salt and the oil.

Follow with the rigatoni and cook to al dante.

Drain and set aside to cool.

Meanwhile, add in the meat, spices and onion into a non-stick pan and cook on medium high heat until the onion softens.

Add in the sauces and crushed tomatoes, then cover and simmer on medium heat until the sauce thickens.

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees celcius.

Meanwhile, stand each pasta on it’s end in an 8″ springform pan. Be sure to tightly pack ’em!

Place a handful of grated Parmesan on top.

Spoon in the meat sauce, making sure to push it in into all the pasta.

Bake the pie for 15 minutes.

Remove form the oven and add the grated mozzarella on top.

Return to the oven and bake for a further 10 – 15 minutes.

When the cheese is golden brown, remove from the oven and leave aside to cool slightly.

Run a knife around the edge to loosen the pie, then unmould.

Cut into wedges and serve with any remaining sauce, or a fresh salad.

 

 

As for being tagged… I’ve answered 10 questions and tagged the next five answerers! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you enjoy my answers as much as you enjoy the recipe above ๐Ÿ˜‰

~~TAGGED~~

Describe yourself in 7 words…

1. Proud and happy amatullah

2. Teacher & student (that’s 1 word you see, because it’s both ways)

3. Cookย (& explorer of new dishes)

4. Perfectionist

5. Photographer

6. Designer (from weddings, to interior, to web)

7. Makeup artist (and fashionista of course)

What keeps you up at night?

My dreams of course (see next question). Asides from that, I stay up late blogging, reading, and doing other important things like remembering all the dishes I’ve cooked and need to write the recipe for, remembering what I need to cook/do/make/call/go to/email tomorrow. I’m like that.

Who would you like to be?

“fati the owner and founder of…” then you insert words such as Orphanage; Restaurant; Catering; School; etc.

What are you wearing now?

Duh, a blue nightie with huge lettering CUTE IS WHAT I AM (it’s true ๐Ÿ˜› )

What scares you?

Every walking beast on earth that is not human. I mean from the grasshoppers and stick insects, to spiders, snakes, lions, horses, cows, dogs, chickens, ducks, everything: you name it, I’m scared of it… okay, a few exemptions: flies (I love it when they splat), mosquitoes (see flies), and kittens (after filing back their claws).

What are the best and worst things about blogging?

Best thing about blogging would have to be all the comments you lovely people leave me! ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s so nice to know the insights/ideas/support/constructive criticism, etc, that you all have to say ๐Ÿ™‚

Worst thing is the time it takes. I sometimes wish it took a little quicker. Maybe I’m just a bit of a perfectionist(ish) so it takes me forever to complete a blog post ๐Ÿ™‚

What is the last website you looked at?

Ehm, being the I.T.ist I am, cough, I have too many sites open…. in my tabs I’ve gmail (can’t live without it), Taste dot com dot au, Woman’s Day (only because I saw a commenter on Eva’s blog from there), and of course I was just at Chica’s blog reading the questions over again! ๐Ÿ™‚

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

Ehm. Where do I start? My intelligence, of course. If I had higher capabilities (intellectually) I’d find ways to earn lots of money so I can live my dreams (see question 2). Since I can only choose one thing, I won’t make a mention of the rest! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Slankets, yes or no?

I didn’t even know it was called a slanket! NO. And sorry for my poor vocab (I call those body blankets).

Tell us something about the person who tagged you…

Chica is living my dream. Going from city life in London to being a Spanish Chica on a mountain, living in the house she and her husband “built”. She’s got gorgeous tiles in her house, and an amaaazing grapevine ย I’d like to make dolma and yabraq from one day! She’s talented in cooking and sewing. Thank you Chica for tagging me ๐Ÿ™‚

 

I’ll pass on this tag to the following 5 bloggers.. hope you haven’t been tagged before so the fun can spread around:

 

Samah from Good Cooks

Sawsan from Chef in Disguise

Ksenia from Saffron and Honey

Steph from A Dash of Sugar and Spice

Florence & Freddie fromย Florence & Freddie (who would’ve thought?)

 

 

18 thoughts on “rigatoni pasta pie

  1. Chica Andaluza says:

    What a fantastic pie – I was going to make some meat sauce tomorrow, so if I can find some good pasta to use Iยดll make this! Loved reading the answers (what, youยดre scared of ALL animals?! Even cute fluffy ones!) and thank you for your lovely words about me and my blog. Sending you a big (animal free) hug ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Charles says:

    Wow Fati – I love the internal “structure” of that pie – it looks so cool, and I’m certain the taste is fabulous too… (cheese, meat, pasta… come on, what’s not to love??) ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Eva kitcheninspirations.wordpress.com says:

    I’ve seen variations of this recipe all over the blog-o-sphere but your’s is the most elegant, even if the rigatoni flopped over! Sadly, this is still too rich a meal for me, plus I would likely love it and not be able to stop myself from sneaking a spoonful in the middle of the night (see Nigella Lawson’s show, she does this on camera all the time). Congrats on being tagged, and thank you for the shout out (I think that’s me?!?!?) I received that comment before I knew to look for comments and missed the deadline. But what a compliment that was for me! I enjoy reading your blog and really enjoy your comments on mine! Keep it up!

  4. Stefanie says:

    This looks awesome! I love how orderly and pretty the pasta looks. And meat, pasta and cheese is my husbands favorite food combo ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks so much for tagging me! It was fun to learn more about you, and I’ll try to post my responses as soon as I get a chance!!

  5. Calico Stretch says:

    Righto, so that’s what I’m going to do with the mince defrosting on the bench. Perfect. Thanks Fati, it looks wonderful. Wonder if the kiddos will eat it ….. Hah. Don’t care cos I will!

    PS I didn’t know what a slanket was either. Had to google it.

  6. fati's recipes says:

    I know right… cheese, pasta and meat. Who would want anything else?
    Well, I’m glad I’m not the only one who had to google what a slanket was. At least I didn’t had to look around much to be convinced of this pasta pie ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks Chica for the big animal-free hug! They’re always welcome! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

