pizza margherita [and base]

Now that I’ve reached my first university holiday of the year, I’ve taken out the time to post – as promised – my pizza base recipe (and a Margherita at that) 🙂

If you remember many months ago I complained that my oven always gave me hard-as-rock pizza crusts… which lead me to make a naan bread pizza base which is so tasty – but perhaps a little time (and ingredient) consuming compared to this one 🙂

pizza margherita

So my story goes: my oven still gives me rock hard pizza bases, and to overcome this I always add 1 or 2 tbs of milk to any baked dough recipe I use (that doesn’t call for some), and reduce 1 or 2 tbs of the liquid (usually water). You can instead use a tbs of powered milk diluted in 3 tbs of the water you’re going to use (not extra water).

Well, I’m sure you all have your own pizza dough recipes.. and perhaps your own pizza margerita recipes, too, but there’s no harm in a little sharing; perhaps my version will inspire you 🙂

pizza margherita

Yields: 2 x 25cm pizzas

Ingredients:

150mL – 180 mL store-bought tomato passata (use more or less to your liking)

2 tbs chopped basil leaves, plus small leaves to garnish

1 garlic clove, finely chopped

4 bocconcini, sliced 1cm thick

4 tbs freshly grated parmesan, divided (2tbs x 2tbs)

8 cherry tomatoes, halved

1 teaspoon salt

Extra virgin olive oil, to drizzle

Pizza base:

2 cups plain flour, plus extra to dust

1 1/2 tbs dry active yeast

1 teaspoon caster sugar

200mL warm tap water, minus 2 tablespoons

2 tablespoons milk (lactose free, low fat, skim, etc. up to you)

1 tbs olive oil (optional), plus extra to grease

 

Method:

Start with the pizza bases by sifting the flour into a large bowl.

Stir in the yeast, sugar and salt. Make a well and add milk, oil and half the water.

Bring together then continue adding water until the dough comes together nicely.

Knead on a floured surface for 5 minutes until smooth.

Lightly grease the bowl and return the dough. Cover with a tea towel and leave aside for an hour or until risen.

Meanwhile make the sauce by combining passata, basil and garlic.

Preheat oven to 220 degrees C.

Knock back the dough by punching it to remove air and divide into 2 balls.

Roll the dough out on a floured surface until you have 2 thin pizza bases. Carefully transfer to 2 lightly greased baking trays.

Spread sauce over pizza bases then divide the bocconcini between bases.

Scatter over the parmesan and cherry tomatoes (cut side up) and drizzle with olive oil if desired.

Bake for 10-12 minutes until cheese has melted and pizza bases are crisp and a light golden brown colour.

Garnish with basil leaves and serve immediately.

16 thoughts on “pizza margherita [and base]

  1. Profiteroles & Ponytails says:

    I am definitely feeling inspired by this pizza Fati–it looks soooo good! (Nice photos!) I am also impressed how you have been so focused on finding a solution to your hard pizza crusts and have continued to refine your recipe!!!!! I haven’t made my own pizza crust in years and you have made me want to change that!

  2. myninjanaan says:

    fati, you are KILLING me with these pictures! Good God! What I would give to be at the table to eat this! I usually don’t care for basil, but when in it’s in a margherita pizza, i LOVE it! 😀 This looks divineee!

  3. Calico Stretch says:

    We make dough very like this too and as the basil is going nuts in the garden of late we have been chucking an enormous amount on. There is something wonderful about home made pizza. Perfection.

    Oh and thank you for the tip about adding a couple of tbs milk to dough if it needs ‘softening’ in the baking. Very interesting.

  4. Good Cooks says:

    Yes, the milk has it’s magic act that gives the baked goods the softness, your looks so yummy, I swear I want to bite through the screen, I ‘m so hungry now haha.

  5. Tanzeem says:

    Hi Fati,
    Ur recipes are amazing. Never tried pizza dough before but ur lovely looking pizza nd easy recipe inspired me so for my first pizza venture I tried ur recipe and it turned out just yummy…delicious….!!!

    Thnk u and keep posting such yummy stuff….:-)

  6. White Pearl says:

    wow your blog sound so yummmmm !! You have so tempting posts really and specially when I am fasting 😉 It is hard you know 😛 Love this recipe and You write so well and fun ! Looking forward to read more of your recipes 🙂 Love xx

Leave a comment