Passionfruit Cheesecake

no-cream, no-egg baked cheesecake

Lately, I’ve noticed my shopping habits have changed. Since a young child, I maintained the idea of “more value for money” means you’re a better shopper. I remember seeing this in my mum, too. And I remember when she also started changing her ideas on this.

When everyone was living at home, our family was pretty big, so the concept worked to a degree. But there were just some things that fell out of the rule. The most prominent example to memory is the Kraft jar of cream cheese my mum bought for us in her weekly shopping. She used to buy the larger sized jar, because we ate most of it throughout the week, and bonus: it was more value for money. Then one day we kind of all stopped. Like our tastebuds and stomachs were no longer into the creamy, fatty delight that we enjoyed on toast.

So mum had to throw out the rest of the jar – she wasn’t going to sport a mouldy jar of cheese in the fridge, after all. A few weeks later, the same would happen. And again, and again, until she decided to purchase the smaller jar, although more expensive than the bigger jar!

Mum eventually stopped buying cream cheese all together; but moving into my own place, time proved I was to do the same as her. With everything.  Yet sometimes our purchases are beyond our control – like the size of a head of lettuce, or the smallest package of something still too large. But a smart shopper, I figure now, is the one that ends up using everything they buy, because although they paid more per quota at the end of the shop, they didn’t pay more for things they threw out at the end of the week.

Mini Passionfruit Cheesecake

So why do I mention all of this? Because last week I decided I was going to buy cream cheese to make cheesecake… And most recipes call for 1.5 or 2 packets of the stuff, and some cream, too. But I wasn’t taking any of it. I refuse to throw out left over cream and cheesecake after all my hard work!

And so out of determination came this delicious recipe. An “eggless & creamless” cheesecake – which if I can add, was made with a spare knob of butter and a packet of biscuits waiting around in my pantry!

Passionfruit Cheesecake

Yields: about 14 muffin-sized cheesecakes (I did 12 muffin sized, and one 10cm tin sized)

Ingredients:

recipe for 9-inch biscuit base (about 1pkt plain biscuits and 100g melted butter)

1 pkt cream cheese (250g) softened to room temperature

1/2 can condensed milk (just under 200g)

170g can passionfruit pulp, drained with 3tbs juice reserved

1 tbs cornflour

 

Method:

Line muffin tray with 12 paper cases and set aside.

Prepare biscuit base by pulsing biscuits and melted butter in food processor.

Place heaped tablespoon into each case and press firmly with the bottom of a glass.

Place in the fridge for 10-15mins while you prepare filling.

At this point, preheat oven to 180 degrees C or 160 degrees C if fan forced.

To prepare filling, lightly pulse cream cheese, condensed milk and passionfruit pulp in food processor (or whisk together with stand mixer whisk attachment).

Dissolve the cornflour in 3 tbs of the reserved passionfruit juice and stir through cheesecake mixture.

Evenly divide mixture into prepared cases (I made an extra cheesecake in a 10cm fluted pan with remaining biscuit base and filling).

Bake, one tray at a time, for about 12 minutes, until cheesecakes are slightly puffed and risen.

Turn off oven and leave door ajar for 15 minutes before removing cheesecakes.

Cool to room temperature, then place in fridge to cool completely.

Dust with icing sugar and serve with your favourite berries.

5 thoughts on “no-cream, no-egg baked cheesecake

  1. mjskit says:

    I’m with you. I hate to throw anything out. Thank you for making a creamless cheesecake! I’m trying to reduce and possibility eliminate cream from my diet, so this cheesecake is just perfect. Passion fruit is very hard to find around here. Do you have a suggestion for a substitute?

    • fati's recipes says:

      MJ, sorry I didn’t reply earlier. Usually I tend to substitute passion fruit pulp and lemon curd without a problem. But I don’t really measure, I add until I like it to taste. And sometimes I just make a good vanilla cheesecake and dress it with a jellied flavour on top: blueberry, raspberry, etc. or add a couple tbs of lemon/lime or orange zest. Hope this helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

