tandoori fish

baked tandoori fish

I have a huge confession to make. I love foods that have a slight redness to them. Like pasta mixed into marinara, or a taco spice mix, or a juicy piece of tandoori chicken.

On that note, usually a tablespoon of paprika does the job when marinating meats, but with a bubba under 1 who loves to eat from our food, I just can’t have any chilli whatsoever in my cooking. So I cheat with less than 1/8 tsp of tandoori colouring to give it that red and spicy look I love and crave.

And so naturally, these basa fillets weren’t spared from my criminous love of colouring, so behold… tandoori fish! I developed this recipe in search of a great baked fish that was easy and quick to make. When I opened the oven, I let out a small wow and sigh of relief and disbelief. Did I really just hit the nail on the head with this recipe?! (The answer is yes, in case I’ve left you wondering 😉 )

tandoori fish

I served the basa with chips and salad, but a brown rice or quinoa side with salad would do just as well for a healthier, well-rounded meal.

 

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

2 large basa fillets

Juice from 1/2 lemon

2 tbs olive oil

1 1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

1 tsp turmeric

1 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp onion powder

1 tbs paprika (or less than 1/8 tsp powdered tandoori colour)

 

Method:
If using frozen fish, place in the refrigerator overnight to defrost.

Preheat your oven to 180 deg c. If using fan forced 160.

marinade mix

Mix lemon, oil, cumin, salt, pepper, turmeric, garlic powder, onion powder and paprika/tandoori colour in a small bowl.

Line a sheet pan with baking paper and place 2 white-flesh fish fillets on the tray.

 

Brush the fillets with marinade on both sides. A trick I use is to flip one fillet over the other so none of the marinade comes off on the baking paper.

marinating the fish

Place fish in the oven and let bake for 15-20 minutes or until the fish is cooked through (this will vary based on thickness of fish and your oven type).

Garnish with parsley and lemon wedges. Serve with chips/rice and salad, and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “baked tandoori fish

Leave a Reply

